St Hilda’s Way footpath

Announcing a new long distance footpath: St Hilda’s Way

St Hilda’s Way is a new 43 miles long-distance trail in North Yorkshire, starting from Hinderwell and finishing at Whitby Abbey. Nancy and John have lent their assistance in devising the route and writing the guidebook.

St Hilda’s Way is being launched on Sunday 28 June 2015 with a special service at St Hilda’s Well at Hinderwell Church. There is then a led pilgrimage and the full walk will be completed over the following five days.

Click here, or on the St Hilda tab above, for lots more information about the walk.

3 thoughts on “St Hilda’s Way footpath”

  1. Hello,

    My husband and I were excited to add a two night stay near Whitby to our holiday in order to drive the St Hilda Pilgrimage using your book just last weekend.

    We were disappointed to find that apart from the two Catholic churches, all the others we visited were actually closed and there were no key holder details to contact except for the Parish Office in Whitby, which closed at 2.00pm and we arrived too late.

    I expected that on an advertised route they would have been open.

    You might like to add this detail to the booklet to allay any further disappointment for future travellers, especially as the book is on sale in the local tourist office.

  2. Dear John and Nancy, I wanted to email as I was a pupil of John’s at St Aidans. I was Helen Chapman then – in the late 70s and early 80s. I have been living down south but my husband and I have just moved to Thirsk to live in community at Holy Rood House. I work on the chaplaincy team as I am a spiritual director and writer (my books are published by Kevin Mayhew) and Nick is the business manager of Holy Rood. It has been good to see some of your published books as we both enjoy walking and have been exploring the lovely moors which I seemed to have overlooked when living in Harrogate. I really like the geology and landscape around here, the birds and the big skies. I liked the physical geography that I learnt with John and enjoy adding to that. I don’t know whether you know Holy Rood and the work that goes on here (website is holyroodhouse.org.uk) but you would be very welcome. I notice your interesting pilgrimages on your site. At our Easter retreat we will be visiting some of the Moors crosses with our guests and doing some services around these crosses (dependent on the weather!).
    So it is good to link to you and all the best with your outreach.
    Helen Warwick

Leave a Reply

